in , ,

Oprah Winfrey To Become First African-American Woman To Recieve The Cecil B. DeMille Award At 2018 Golden Globes

Oprah Winfrey, a renowned actress, talk show host and media mogul is set to make history at the Golden Globe awards as the first African-American to receive the Cecil B. DeMille award which is to be presented in 2018.

The news was announced by a former Cecil B. DeMille honoree Morgan Freeman on Wednesday, 13th of December during the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) ‘s Golden Globe 75th anniversary special on NBC.

The award which was first presented in 1952 is given to an outstanding individual that has made positive impact in tremendous measures in the entertainment industry.

Oprah Winfrey
Oprah Winfrey

It however came as no surprise when Winfrey, a well celebrated female media personality and role model lots of youths across the globe clinched the award, having met all the necessary requirements.

Although not the first black, Winfrey is the first African-American to clinch this award and is to receive her prize at a ceremony that is to take place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles on the 7th of January 2018 , an event which is going to be broadcasted live on NBC.

Meher Tauna, president of the HPFA in her speech said
“it is with great delight that we announce Oprah Winfrey as the recipient of the 2018 Cecil B. DeMille award. As a global media leader, philanthropist, producer and actress, she has created an unparalled connection with people around the world, making her one of the most respected and admired figures today. For years, Oprah has celebrated strong female characters on and off the screen and has been a role model for women and young girls for decades. She is one of the most influential women of our time and the honor is well deserved”.

We Celebrate Oprah Winfrey!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

How Kate Quartey patafio’s Business Became A Leading Manufacturing Company In Ghana [ WATCH AND LEARN]

Nigeria’s Olympic Gold Medalist Becomes Assistant Commissioner of Police