in , ,

Beyoncé Announces Eight 2018/2019 BeyGOOD Scholarship Award Recipients


Award winning and talented Artiste, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, through her BeyGOOD initiative has announced the eight recipients to receive  the Homecoming Scholars Award Program for their 2018-2019 academic years.

The Homecoming Scholars for 2018-2019 include Allana J. Barefield from Xavier University, Erin Evans from Wilberforce University, Caleb Washington from Tuskegee University, Demetrius Weaver from Bethune-Cookman University, Jordan Davis from Texas Southern University, Dartisha Mosley from Fisk University, Cletus Emokpae from Grambling State University and Kameron Willis from Morehouse College. The Homecoming Scholars Award Program was announced last year, April 2017 after Beyoncé’s brilliant first weekend Coachella performance.

The Award was established to celebrate excellence in education and a celebration of young women who are bold, creative, conscious, confident and unafraid to think outside of the box.

LOS ANGELES, CA – FEBRUARY 12: Beyonce performs onstage during The 59th GRAMMY Awards at STAPLES Center on February 12, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Kevin Mazur/Getty Images for NARAS)

Founded in 2013 during the Mrs. Carter Show World Tour, BeyGOOD is an extension of Beyoncé’s charitable heart. Through impactful dynamic partnerships, BeyGOOD was set up to encourage and empower others to give back what they have to their own communities. BeyGOOD is built on the belief that we are all in this together and each and every one of us can make a difference by giving back.

The 2018-2019 criteria for the award was that applicants with 3.5 GPA or above in the discipline such as literature, creative arts, African-American studies, science, education, business, communications, social sciences, computer science, engineering and more could apply after submitting a 1,000-word essay about one African or African-American thought leader in their field who has inspired them to achieve their goals (either educational, professional, and/or community-driven). The essay was said to have included how they plan to contribute to history through their own life’s work. The eight finalists were selected by committees from the colleges and universities as they are to receive the sum of $25K each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Meet Adebayo Ogunlesi, Nigerian Business Mogul Who Runs 5 Multi-Dollar Standard Airport In UK

Visitor To Caleb University, Dr Adebogun Receives Pan-African Leadership Award